Home AOMEI Products Support

AOMEI Backupper blocked access to all 3 external hard drives

The hard drives still showed up on my system, but I didn't have access to them. I tried a number of things, including the standard rebooting of all devices, etc. I finally got access back by uninstalling AOMEI Backupper and rebooting.

I sort of liked this program until it broke access to my hard drives. What was going on? Before I try reinstalling it (or paying for it), I need to know what happened.

Comments

• @Iruka_Naminori, Could you install AOMEI Backupper again and then check if you will get the same situation? We don't encounter the problem situation. Generally, AOMEI Backupper doesn't lock hard drives.
  • Thanks for your reply, but I have some concerns.

I am afraid that uninstalling AOMEI Backupper may not work next time and, although I have no experience with AOMEI's support, the trend for the past couple of decades (longer?) has been a severe decline in the quality of customer service, especially when it comes to computer issues.

I used to build and repair PCs. Even though I haven't kept up with advances in recent years, I still know much more than the average user. Often, I'm able to fix problems official support can't, but it is time-consuming and frustrating.

Unfortunately, most tech support has been relegated to non-techs with scripts. If something falls outside the purview of the script, consumers are largely on their own. 

I absolutely require access to those external hard drives. What kind of assurances can you provide that your software won't block access to my hard drives forever, that I won't have to spend hours troubleshooting, that I won't have to try a risky restoration of the C drive?

Thanks in advance for your reply,

Iruka