Home AOMEI Products Support

Recovery from Explore Image

I recently was forced to reinstall my Windows 11 machine. I have daily image backups of my machine and need to restore some files from those images. I am not looking to restore the entire backup only the My Documents folder. Using the Explore Image function, I can see the user folder, but I am unable to browse it or copy it to my machine. Windows throws up the "You must be an Administrator" to view the user files. I am an admin on the machine. Q-Dir runs into the same issue. I cannot modify the permissions or change owner on the image as it's read-only. How do I recover my documents from the image?
Tagged:

Comments

• edited August 2023
    Please post several screenshots of this issue, including the part that shows that the image is read-only.
    Please screenshot Settings showing the current Windows user is an admin.
    What have you already tried to change the image file to give it write permissions? GUI & CLI?
    Have you tried going to Program Files > BackUpper (BU) > .exe file > right click > run as Admin?
  • edited August 2023
    Accidental Post.
  • Running Backupper Professional as Administrator yields the same results.  I've included the requested screenshots.

Account is an administrator on the machine

When attempting to access the user folder, this message is displayed.

The Properties for the user folder.  Note that Attributes is listing it as Read-only.

If I uncheck the Read-only attribute and click Okay, this message is displayed.  If Ignore/Ignore All is selected, it will not modify any of the files.  Try Again, yields the same error.

If I right-click the folder, select Properties, Security tab, Advanced, I verified that the local machine Administrators have Full control of the share.

I've also added in my personal account with Full control access, but when I click Apply, this error is returned.

• edited August 2023
    Thank for your thorough reply.