Home AOMEI Products Support

Invalid Image error

Hiya,

I've encountered an odd problem. I made an image using System Backup (under AOMEI Backupper Pro 3.1), and since this is my first time attempting to use this software, I decided to use Universal Restore to restore the system to another machine first (a laptop). I read all the online support docs, made a WinPE boot disc using the option under Utilities, wiped and re-partitioned the destination drive, attached the ancillary drive holding the image to the laptop via USB, got together all the drivers that will be needed for the new hardware into a folder, and then booted up with the boot cd.

It booted up fine, and automatically opened AOMEI Backupper, as expected. I then chose Restore/Universal Restore and browsed to the system image. Immediately I received an error saying the image wasn't valid, was damaged, or that I was using an incompatible version of the software. The disc was created using the same (3.1) software that created the image, so that didn't make sense to me. I then went back to the original machine and ran a check on the image. Took awhile, but in the end AB said it was good.

At this point I'm stumped. I recall there being an alternate method of creating a boot disc, so wonder if the problem may lie in that area, but don't have enough experience with this software to make any sort of logical deduction. Beyond that possibility, though, no ideas spring to mind.

I'd appreciate any advice on how to proceed.