By Nick / Last Updated November 30, 2020

reset all settings vs erase all content and settings

I would give my old iPhone 8 to my son, so what should I do to clear it. I found some options in Settings to reset my iPhone. Should I choose Reset All Settings or Erase All Content and Settings?

- Question from Apple Community

iPhone is famous for its premium quality. Usually, you just need to use all kinds of apps, making calls, and send emails in the way you like. Sometimes you still need to take care of your iPhone.

After your iPhone has been used for years, your settings are modified by the apps and a lot of data are stored on it. Some of the settings or content should be modified or deleted by yourself because you need to fix some iPhone issues or clear iPhone storage before changing the ownership.

There are some options in iPhone Settings > General > Reset. You need to make different decisions when you have different purposes. The following sections are the very detailed information about Reset All Settings VS Erase All Content and Settings. You will always make right decision with this guide.

Reset Network Setting

Section 1. What Does Reset All Settings do?

It literally means return all the system settings on iPhone back to the status when it is manufactured. You can use most apps on iPhone as usual but sometimes you need to give permissions in Privacy Settings.

You might have noticed the option Reset Network Settings. It is used to fix some network issues like iOS update not connect to Internet. It is helpful, but the biggest problem is that this will let iPhone forget all the saved passwords of Wi-Fi and the Bluetooth connection history.

ios not connect to the Internet

Reset All Settings does everything that Reset Network Settings does. This would be terrible if you can’t remember the complicated passwords.

Reset All Settings could also fix other issues like iCloud backup stuck. If you have any problems with system issues, this could be a good solution.

Section 2. What Happens When You Erase All Content and Settings?

If you select Erase All Content and Settings, it means you delete everything on iPhone including the settings and app data. This iPhone needs to be activated again then. It means you need to connect iPhone to Wi-Fi, sign in with you Apple ID, and then set up your iPhone like you get it for the first time.

This operation is often used to clear important iPhone data to sell the old device to another one, so your private data will not be hacked by bad guys.

If you don’t think there is any important information on this iPhone, this would also be a good choice to clear iPhone storage. To give insurance to your decision, you’d better backup iPhone to computer so that you could recover some useful information later.

The third purpose of choosing to wipe your iPhone is to restore your iPhone from the previous iCloud backup. In fact, this is the only way to use your iCloud backup, because the option only appears after you set up iPhone.

If you feel that there are serious system problems or viruses on your iPhone, completely clean your iPhone in this way would save you from misgivings. What’s more, you could have other ways to remove iPhone data or rescue your iPhone.

Section 3. How to Erase iPhone data with iTunes?

Some issues might stop you from erasing iPhone data on iPhone, but you could still do this on computer. iTunes would help you factory reset your iPhone on PC like you do that on iPhone. If you have an old iTunes backup, you could restore backup after setting up iPhone.

1. Download iTunes and connect iPhone to computer with USB cable.

2. After the device icon appears in the upper-left corner, click it.

3. Click Restore iPhone to factory reset your iPhone.

iTunes

Section 4. How to wipe iPhone data with AOMEI MBackupper?

AOMEI MBackupper provides the one-stop solution for you to easily backup and erase iPhone with it. There would be no misgivings because you would restore your backup anytime you want and it completely free.

As a professional software, AOMEI MBackupper could automatically activate your iPhone after erasing it, saving your time.

Step 1. Download AOMEI MBackupper and connect iPhone to computer with USB.

Step 2. Select Erase iPhone on the home screen.

Erase iPhone

Step 3. Check Automatically activate iPhone and ignore initial settings to quickly start using your iPhone later.

Erase Options

Step 4. Click the button Erase iPhone to clean your iPhone.

Begin Erase

Conclusion

When you need to clear your iPhone, you might want to modify the settings or delete data. This guide gives you very useful advice to let you know Reset All Settings vs Erase All Content and Settings.

AOMEI MBackupper is recommended because it erases your iPhone and protects your data at the same time.

Share this guide and it would help more people.