Photos are very important data on iPhone. You could take a lot of beautiful pictures using iPhone camera, save photos from WhatsApp or other apps, or sync photos with iTunes. In a word, photos are your moments of life.
You might have seen iCloud Photos warning that you might lose your iTunes photos. You need to know why it happens and how to save your photos.
What does it mean when it says photos synced from iTunes will be removed?
If you use macOS Catalina, the message should be Photos synced from Finder will be removed.
You might have piles of pictures on computer and want to conveniently view them on iPhone, so you use iTunes to sync photos. If you have turned on iCloud photos when syncing photos, you must have received the message in iTunes that you need to turn off iCloud photos, because iCloud photos and iTunes photos will not coexist on the same iPhone.
For some reason, you need to turn on iCloud Photos again, but receive iCloud photos warning. It means iTunes photos will be totally replaced with iCloud photos. The whole folder you sync from iTunes will be deleted and there is no way to retrieve.
iPhone thought that there are the original photos on computer and you’d better make sure there are.
If you can’t find them on computer but don’t want to see iTunes photos disappearing from iPhone, you could read the next section to easily save your photos.
#1 Copy photos synced from iTunes using AOMEI MBackupper
You might find no ways to directly save these photos on iPhone, because when you select iTunes photos in Album, there are no options for you to save or delete them. What to do when your photos seem fixed on iPhone? You need a professional tool.
AOMEI MBackupper is an excellent iPhone photos transfer. You could use it to export all the iTunes photos to computer. It is the fastest iPhone data transfer so far and you can complete the process with one click.
Step 1. Download AOMEI MBackupper and connect iPhone to PC with USB cable.
Step 2. Select Transfer to computer on the home screen.
Step 3. Click the plus icon to select photos on your iPhone.
Step 4. Preview and select iPhone photos and click OK.
Step 5. Click Transfer to export the selected photos.
AOMEI MBackupper is very professional. If you transfer photos from PC to iPhone later, these photos could be edited, shared, deleted like the photos taken by camera.
#2 Upload original iTunes photos to iCloud
Original photos are always the best insurance. If you could find them on your computer, you could import these photos to iPhone at any time.
To avoid these the photos to be overwritten by iCloud Photos again, you don’t need iTunes anymore. You could upload photos to iCloud on the computer or download iCloud backup to computer.
Step 1. Open your browser, go to icloud.com, sign in your Apple ID.
Step 2. Click the Photos icon and the upload photos from computer to iCloud.
Bonus Tips: How to delete photos synced from iTunes library on iPhone?
iTunes photos and videos are only allowed to be viewed on iPhone, so what if you don’t need some of them? Turning on iCloud Photos will remove all the iTunes photos. To delete some of them, you still need the help of iTunes.
You just need to find the original folder on computer, remove the unneeded photos in it, and sync the folder with iTunes.
If you want to delete all the iTunes photos, you just need to sync an empty folder to iPhone, or you could turn on iCloud Photos and then turn it off.
iTunes makes you quickly sync photos to iPhone, but they not so secure on iPhone. If you turn on iCloud photos, you would be warned that Photos synced from iTunes will be removed.
You could use the 2 method above to make sure your photos are always safe, even when you can’t find the original photos on computer.
Using AOMEI MBackupper would be the best solution because you could edit, share, or delete photos like the photos taken by iPhone camera.
Is this passage helpful? You could share it to help others.