Home Storage General Discussion

Some Questions about Boot/Bootable Discs

Hello,

This is my first attempt at setting up an image of a computer and being able to restore the image if the HDD dies.

As one step, I created a CD boot disc using the Backupper Standard's utilities tool. Below are screen shots of some of what is on the CD. I can provide other images or information if requested.

I have three questions. First, what is the significance of the fact that desktop.ini is listed as a file ready to be written to the disc? Do I need to take further action to make that happen? If so, what action?

Second question: Which file do I click on when using the CD to boot a drive that I have installed to replace a dead drive?

Finally, how do I test the boot CD to see if it works?

Thanks,
Bill

Comments

• edited April 2017

The files currently on my disk are the 4 you show except my bootmgr is not an EFI file. I show: boot: EFI: sources: and bootmgr. You shouldn't need the desktop.ini.

You don't click on any file to run this. You need to shutdown your PC and then on restart, make the boot order so it has this disk (CD) as the first option to boot. It will take a few seconds to load, but you should see a pre windows environment with the AOMEI program running. To test it, you should connect a spare HD in place of the drive containing your C (system) drive. Then after this loads, run a restore to that drive from one of your images. Restart after the operation is complete and boot normally. You may need to check your boot order again to have the spare as your 1st boot drive. If you created a good image and it restored properly, you should be seeing your normal Windows running. Shutdown and put your original C system drive back in. You're now covered in case of a drive failure. 

This seems like a lot to do, but is really the only way to know you're really protected.