Home Storage General Discussion

Would Someone Confirm My Plan Will Work?

Hello,

I'm new to using this software and to imaging harddrives. Please tell me if what I'm planning to do below is likely to work and what I need to be aware of.

We have four computers, all running on Windows 10.

I bought a 4 TB external harddrive to be used exclusively to store image files of all four computers, to be used if any one of the computer's hard drives should fail, in which case I would purchase a new harddrive of equal or larger size, install it in the computer, and restore that computer's image onto the new harddrive.

The harddrive info on the four computers is:

Capacity      Used            Remaining

Computer 1:    1,810 GB     441 GB 1,380 GB

Computer 2:    1,810 GB     247 GB 1,560 GB

Computer 3:    568 GB     238 GB 330 GB 

Computer 4:    911 GB     177 GB 733 GB

Totals:             5,099 GB     1,103 GB     4,003 GB

None of the computers is partitioned. All have only C: drives.

Based on what I've read so far, my plan is to use Disk Backup to create each image file. As I say above, I plan to store them all on a single external harddrive dedicated to this purpose alone.

Does my plan appear to be workable? What pitfalls, if any, do I need to be aware of?

Thanks,
Bill

Tagged:

Comments

• edited April 2017

Seems ok. Don't run back ups at the same time. You probably only want the new external drive writing one back up at a time. If you only have a C drive without additional partitions, you could use either system or disk image.

How will the new external be connected to your network? I'm assuming you are using a home network. If not you will have to do each back up manually as you connect the drive to each. If hooked into a network, you'll need its IP address to set up your schedule and have it as your backup destination. All can be saved on one drive. Just give each back up a unique name.

• Thanks, Flyer.