Main Threads:Would Someone Confirm My Plan Will Work?
  • Hello,

I'm new to using this software and to imaging harddrives. Please tell me if what I'm planning to do below is likely to work and what I need to be aware of.

We have four computers, all running on Windows 10.

I bought a 4 TB external harddrive to be used exclusively to store image files of all four computers, to be used if any one of the computer's hard drives should fail, in which case I would purchase a new harddrive of equal or larger size, install it in the computer, and restore that computer's image onto the new harddrive.

The harddrive info on the four computers is:

Capacity      Used            Remaining

Computer 1:    1,810 GB     441 GB 1,380 GB

Computer 2:    1,810 GB     247 GB 1,560 GB

Computer 3:    568 GB     238 GB 330 GB 

Computer 4:    911 GB     177 GB 733 GB

Totals:             5,099 GB     1,103 GB     4,003 GB

None of the computers is partitioned. All have only C: drives.

Based on what I've read so far, my plan is to use Disk Backup to create each image file. As I say above, I plan to store them all on a single external harddrive dedicated to this purpose alone.

Does my plan appear to be workable? What pitfalls, if any, do I need to be aware of?

Thanks,
    Bill

• Seems ok. Don't run back ups at the same time. You probably only want the new external drive writing one back up at a time. If you only have a C drive without additional partitions, you could use either system or disk image.

How will the new external be connected to your network? I'm assuming you are using a home network. If not you will have to do each back up manually as you connect the drive to each. If hooked into a network, you'll need its IP address to set up your schedule and have it as your backup destination. All can be saved on one drive. Just give each back up a unique name.

• Thanks, Flyer.