Home AOMEI Products Support

The difference between Full 'Disk backup' and 'system backup'

keskes
edited December 2015 in AOMEI Products Support

Hi

I am new to Aomei backupper (Standard Free version).  I have it installed on Win 10 on a desktop. Reading the documentation it is not clear to me which option I should use in order to do an image backup ('snapshot') which would allow me to bring my PC to a place of last backup, in case of a disaster (e.g. broken hard drive ,  inability  to boot due to corrupted boot sector etc). I want not only the OS restored but also my data files and file struture.

Full Disk backup or System backup? 

(The terminology used by different backup programs is not always consistent, so I wanted to make sure before I use spend time in backing up the desktop.)

Thanks

kes

Comments

• edited December 2015

For your data do a separate file backup anyway, and do it frequently.

For your bootable system do a Disk backup better, and rarely. Because Windows and Programs and Settings change rarely, and can be repeated.

In emergency situation, then you would do a Disk restore, and after that a file restore.

In addition, for your bootable system, do a "Windows 7 create disc image" (built-in into Windows10 ) this is the most proven way to save everything needed to boot. However, for your data a separate file backup is the right way.

• The disk backup will backup all your data on your disk.

And the system backup will backup your system partition and data relate to your system.

To make sure your computer boot normally,after the disk backup you'd better do a system backup.

• Thank you both (Peter, Admin).  If I understand you correctly, I need to do both. System backup (rarely) and Disk Backup (regularly).  I did a trial Disk Backup, it took around 1hr15min.  Is this normal? Usually I can do personal file  backup (incremental) in about 10 minutes with a different program. Thanks

• Thank you for contacting us.