Home AOMEI Products Support

Backupper 3 trashed my PC

edited July 2015 in AOMEI Products Support

I've been using AOMEI Backupper and PA for a couple of years, and loved them before now.  Now, I hate them.

I downloaded Backupper 3 (free version) and ran the install.  It first asked me if I wanted to delete the old Backupper, so I said yes, and it did that and stopped.  So I started the install again, and it stopped in the middle of the install, saying it couldn't copy some dll.  No big deal, I thought, I'll reboot and try again.  But I couldn't reboot - boot error.  I booted my Windows DVD and tried to repair it --- it couldn't repair it.  I attached another drive and booted from that, and found that my old C drive was gone -- the other partitions on the same physical hard drive were still there, but the 100GB C drive was gone, and in its place was the 128MB Windows EFI partition or whatever, which had been hidden before.

Not a complete disaster, because I had a recent backup image, and I was about to install Windows 10 anyway.  I installed Win10 on a new drive, and taking complete leave of my senses, I installed Backupper 3 on it.  That went without incident.  Then I made a backup of the new Win10 boot partition, to restore to where my old C drive was.  The backup said it couldn't proceed because VSS wasn't started (it was, I checked before I started the backup), but it proceeded anyway, and reported success.  There was just 14GB of data, since it was a new Win10 install, and I had deleted the Windows.old folder before I made the backup.

Then I restored the Win10 image I just made to my old C drive that had been trashed by the Backupper install earlier.  It reported success, but suddenly a 1.5TB partition on the same drive was gone.  Just gone.  I looked in PA, and it said the space was unallocated.  I had over a terabyte of very important programs and files on that drive.  Looks like they are gone forever.

Stay away from this product.  It will F you up.