Home AOMEI Products Support

Deleting Unnecessary Files on Backup Disk

I’m new to AOMEI and have two questions:

1.  I have a Seagate 2 terabyte external backup hard drive.  In the past I’ve used both Windows10 backup and Seagate Dashboard backup. I’ve decided to use AOMEI Backupper exclusively because of its ease of use and ability to create a full system image. My backup drive is ¾ full.  I want to delete subdirectories that are no longer used.  My understanding is that the Backupper files and system image are stored in subdirectory “System Backup(1).”  Would it be safe to delete all the other subdirectories on my backup drive?  The other subdirectories are named “FileHistory,” “OFFICEPC,” “Seagate Dashboard 2.0,” “Start-Here-Mac.app,” and “WindowsImageBackup.”

2.  The hard disk on my PC seems to be on its last legs, so I plan to purchase a new computer and transfer all my files and programs to it.  Will the free version of AOMEI Backupper allow me to accomplish this by importing the full system image onto the hard drive of my new computer or will I have to purchase AOMEI Backupper Professional to do this?  It is important that my existing programs in addition to my files get imported onto the new computer.

Thanks very much for your help.

Tagged:

Comments

• 1The other subdirectories are named “FileHistory,” “OFFICEPC,” “Seagate Dashboard 2.0,” “Start-Here-Mac.app,” and “WindowsImageBackup.”

Don't know about if OfficePC and Start-Here-Mac are important to you. The other 3 seem to be backups and if you are sure you don't need those old backups from other program, be free to delete them

2. Doesn't then new PC have Windows already installed? If you want to use that one, you probably must reinstall some programs and some you may restore from the backup. You can allways restore data files, but don't overwrite Windows files with different versions...