Home AOMEI Products Support

backup won't compress / Solved

Somethng changed in Aomei I'm guessing.  I used to be able to compress my backups but now it won't work.  What happed to the compression option?  It's there but it doesn't compress the backup anymore. It copies the entire partition with no compression.  Has something changed?  Thank you.

Comments

• Did you encrypt the drive?

• no, the drive isn't encrypted. I'm wondering if it's win10 that's causing the problem?  Aomei always worked well for me in the past.  This is my first try with win10.

• Can you upload a screenshot of Disk Management?

• Here is my screenshot.  I want to save the compressed image to partiton "I".  I used to do it with Win 7 and it worked just fine.  But ever since I bit the bullet and installed Win 10 Creators it won't compress to fit in the I partition of 60 gigs.

• So sorry, I hit the "post comment" button before I attached the screenshot.

imageDisk Management.jpg

• edited October 2017

I know a way to add more than 100 GB to your storage capacity....for free.

• Did you perform a system backup? The backup image(.adi) is 60GB?

• No, I want to make an image of my "C" drive which is about 27 gigs.  Normally that would have compressed down to about 9/10 gigs that I want to store on partition "I".  I got a hold  of an older computer today that someone threw out with win7 on it.  I experimented with it a bit.  It had one 120 gig partition.  I resized it down to 80gigs and made a new partition of 40 gigs.  I installed Aomei on it and tried a backup of the "C" partition to the new 40 gig partition with high compression and it worked just fine.  No problems at all.  Aomei has saved my bacon quite a few times in the past few years by being able to do a restore of the "C" partition when the computer would have problems.  Sure hate to give up on it.  Win10 maybe?

• Ok, so the used space of C: drive is 72.75GB-40.89GB≈32G, and the current backup image is 27GB?