Home Storage Guides, Tricks and Tips

What should I do if Windows won’t recognize my external hard drive?

"Hi,

I have purchased a Seagate hard drive and I plug it in to my pc and its not showing up under disk management, devices, computer etc. It has my commission work on there im a designer so its vitall. I have tried everything from putting it in all the usb slots, going to devices refreshing it there, under computer nothing shows up. Went in safe mode etc.

Is there any other way of fixing this?

Regards”

“Recently, I bought a new WD GPT hard disk and installed it on my PC. However, when I opened my computer, there is the only disk I have before and I can’t find the new one. I reinstalled the new disk for several times but is still can’t see it on my computer. What’s the matter about it?”

As it shows above, many people have now or ever encountered such problem. When they plug the external hard drive in computer, they cannot see it, in Computer/OS, in Disk Management/Devices or in BIOS. Many tried several times with nothing. What should they do to solve fix this matter and regain the external hard drive for use?

The most initial check

If the external hard drive is connected to computer through USB port, you should first check whether the USB port is at good condition or not by plugging in another fine device or inserting the external disk into another healthy pc.

Not for everyone but still some less careful users. If the drive is connected to computer through motherboard port (such drive actually called internal hard drive), check the connect cables (IDE or SATA). Are they attached or well attached to the appropriate port on the motherboard? Do you power up the pc? If you are not sure about that, try to reconnect them all!

Partition and format the external hard drive