Is it safe to delete old incremental backups - if full back

Hi,

Is it safe to delete old incremental backups - if full backups are made in between ? I am running out of space and the 2016 backups can now be deleted they all started as incremental but every 6 months or so I make a full backup, so will incremental backups be based on the last full backup?

is it save to deleted ones from 2016 and leave 2017 and 18, starting from the 2017 full backup?


Also, what would be the best backup type? I save all user data on a separate drive so I currently use full disk backup, I don't use File Backup, because when I do I select the full drive U:\ as the folder and a popup shows not recommending this if I am backing up full HDD, why is this?

Comments

  • edited August 2018
    Yes. Incrementals are based on the latest full. To be sure you can move the old backups (or just one to break the chain) to another location and explore a recent backup. Exploring an old backup made after the moved one wil result in an error.
Sign In or Register to comment.