Home AOMEI Products Support

File Backup does not accept folder exclude criteria

I fave a file backup which backups my drive D:

I want to exclude the directory tree including and below D:\Testsets\Test1

Defining the exclude mask D:\Testsets\Test1 does not eclude the files in this directory nor all subdirectories

Defining the exclude mask D:\Testsets\Test1* does not eclude the files in this directory nor all subdirectories

Defining the exclude mask D:\Testsets\Test1\* does not eclude the files in this directory nor all subdirectories

This seems to be a bug? Or how is the correct exclude mask for that simple case.

Comments

• You only need to input the name and a * behind or beyond the folder,you do not have to input the path.

If you want to exclude the folder names 123,you only need to in put *123 or 123*.

• That does the trick, thanks for this tip

• Hello, sorry for bringing this old topic to the top, but I'm new with the backupper and I've spend a lot of time to find out how to exclude a folder.

It is working, but if there are several folders with the same name, all will be excluded. Why is it not possible to select a specific folder?

For me this is at the moment the reason NOT to buy the Pro-Version, because it is not usable for me...

• edited April 2017

Don't know about the pro version but in the standard (free) version one can also exclude files and folders through registry settings, if you wish including a drive letter.

This works for system, disk, partition and file backups.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\BackupRestore\FilesNotToSnapshot

Try adding some files and folders to the FilesNotToSnapshot registry entry. And yes Aomei respects those entries. So that is a convenient way to exclude files from the backup. 

e.g. 

f:\nb1\nb1.txt

f:\nb2\*.* /s

• A little bit strange to put it to the registry...