Home AOMEI Products Support

What back up type should I do ?

Hi first of all I have never done imaging or cloning before. Having read up a bit I am still not 100 % sure either. What I need to be able to do is restore an entire operating system of both windows and Linux making this back up once for the whole thing so it convienently slots back in how it was originally programs files and all. I can also just do a back up of windows or linux seperately if this is more sensible.

Current state - Freshly installed windows with minimal programs now added. A Freshly installed linux on a seperate partition with a few programs added also. My computer acknowledges there are 6 partitons without all being currently connected at present (they were connected before of course). I have two external memory keys and a 1 TB external hard drive. The internal partitions are the ones that actually need backing up which include the windows restoration partition , a windows user partition C: and the linux Partition D: . The goal is to have a fully functional useable restoration from these with minimal effort.

What I am aware of :- I can make a restoration USB key in case my entire main computer hard drive fails.

Where I want to back up too :- From my internal partition sources to my 1 external hard drive as a back up.

The rest I am unsure of - I think that an image might work if I take a snapshot of the whole entire computer from windows. ie - even linux with its entire operating system and its programs and files would also hopefully magically restore as well if I take the image initially from windows itself. That is to say I would end up with a restored windows and a restored linux with everything I need.

The question is : What else would I need to do to restore this complete image of approxamately 100 GB or should I do a clone instead ?

If I do a clone can I do it to my external hard drive easily ?