Home AOMEI Products Support

Non Functional Recovery Partition on Cloned Hard Drive

Hello Everyone. I'm a brand new member here. I have been searching all over the web for literally weeks and have made tiny incremental steps toward finding my total solution. Please allow me to get some of the details out of the way first.

Me: I have been doing computer support since 1990; first with Apple ProDOS and Mac OS 6.x through early OS X, then shifting to Windows 9x/NT/2k. I have concentrated on Windows since then, trough XP, Vista, 7, and now 8/8.1. I have "tinkered" with various Linux flavors. My strengths are troubleshooting and Anal Retentiveness. My weaknesses are command line and Anal Retentiveness.

HW/ SW: (1) Lenovo IdeaPad G510 (Intel i5)/Win 8.1 Standard/all orig hw except upgraded RAM. (2) Lenovo IdeaPad G585 (AMD xx)/Win 8 Standard/ all orig hw. (3) Spare 500GB SATA hdd.

The G585 belongs to my teenaged daughter. Both laptops are well outside factory warranties.

My Bozo move: (I won't get into too many details here): I inadvertently destroyed the ability to factory restore the G585 from the recovery partition. Lenovo would not even sell me a replacement pre-imaged hdd. All I could buy were the OS Recovery disks, which wipe all partitions and install a clean OS on a single drive-encompassing partition.

My short term fix: because the initiator of this fiasco was the frequent viral infections my daughter was experiencing, and the fact that she does need her laptop for school, I did a clean install of Ubuntu, which she likes well enough, but prohibits her playing of some PC games.

My Brainstorm: What if I could clone MY hdd, replace her original drive with the clone, then do a factory restore on her system?

FIRST TEST: I pulled my hdd and put it in her laptop to verify that my copy of 8.1 would indeed be able to boot her system. IT WORKED! WOOHOO!

Next step: Clone my orig 500GB SATA hdd to the Spare 500GB SATA hdd.